skip navigation

U.S. Fencers Honored During FIE Congress

11/26/2017, 11:30pm CST
By Nicole Jomantas

USA Fencing President Donald Anthony Jr. received the Overall World Cup awards on behalf of Alexander Massialas and the U.S. Junior Men's Foil Team. Photo Credit: Serge Timacheff / FIE

Carl Borack was named an FIE Member of Honour in Dubai. Photo Credit: Serge Timacheff / FIE.

(Colorado Springs, Colo.) – U.S. Olympians and Junior World Team members were among those honored during the Federation Internationale d’Escrime in Dubai over the weekend.

Carl Borack (Santa Monica, Calif.), a 1972 Olympian, became just the second U.S. man to earn the distinction of FIE Member of Honour while two-time Olympic medalist Alexander Massialas (San Francisco, Calif.) and the U.S. Junior Men’s Foil Team earned Overall World Cup Champion honors for the 2016-17 season.

The title of Member of Honour is bestowed by the FIE Congress on individuals who have committed long and loyal service to international fencing and has demonstrated constant commitment to the FIE.

A member of the Promotions and Publicity Commission for the past 17 years and the Commission’s chair from 2004-2008, Borack has worked tirelessly to growing and promoting the sport around the world.

Since retiring from competition, Borack has gone on to become a key promoter of the sport of fencing both domestically and internationally.

Borack served as the vice president of USA Fencing from 1984-1988 and the former U.S. Olympic Committee Publicity Committee member was elected to the FIE P&P Commission for the first time in 1996. He would serve three consecutive terms and was elected chair of the Commission from 2004-2008. Borack was elected to a fourth term from 2012-2016 and recently began a fifth term for the current quadrennium.

An award-winning director and producer of Hollywood films, Borack has used his talents to help grow and promote the sport of fencing and recently produced and directed two documentaries on the sport: "What Is It About Fencing?" and "A Path to Excellence."

He also serves in key leadership roles with the U.S. Olympic Fencing Team, dedicating his efforts to guide future generations as Team Captain at the 1988, 1992, 1996 and 2000 Olympic Games and Chef de Mission at the 2016 Olympic Games.

Borack joined Omar Alejandro Vergara (ARG)Emmanuele Francesco Maria Emanuele (ITA) and George Rijsch Van Dugteren (NED) in being the four newest Members of Honour. 

Alexander Massialas (San Francisco, Calif.) became the first U.S. man to earn back-to-back Overall World Cup titles, following his 2015-16 win as the No. 1 men’s foil fencer in the world with a repeat for the 2016-17 season.

The two-time Olympic medalist medaled in three of the five World Cup circuits in which he competed last season, earning gold at the Paris World Cup and silvers at the Grand Prix events in Torino, Italy and Long Beach, Calif. 

With a silver medal finish at the Pan American Championships in June and a fifth place result at the Senior Worlds in July, Massialas retained the Overall World Cup crown and remains No. 1 in the world after the first two events of the 2017-18 season.

The United States also received the Overall Junior World Cup title in men’s team foil in a repeat of the 2016-17 honor.

In addition to winning the Junior World Championship gold in April, Team USA stood on the podium in four of its five Junior World Cup appearances, winning titles in Leszno and London, earning silver in Aix-En-Provence and taking bronze in Bangkok. The U.S. squad also earned gold at the Pan American Junior Championships in March – successfully claiming the title for the third straight year.

The complete list of Overall World Cup winners for the 2016-17 season is as follows:

Senior Men’s Individual Epee
Yannick Borel (FRA)

Senior Men’s Team Epee

Senior Men’s Individual Foil
Alexander Massialas (USA)

Senior Men’s Team Foil

Senior Men’s Individual Saber
Bongil Gu (KOR)

Senior Men’s Team Saber

Senior Women’s Individual Epee
Violetta Kolbova (RUS)

Senior Women’s Team Epee

Senior Women’s Individual Foil
Inna Deriglazova (RUS)

Senior Women’s Team Foil

Senior Women’s Individual Saber
Anna Marton (HUN)

Senior Women’s Team Saber

Junior Men’s Individual Epee
Valerio Cuomo (ITA)

Junior Men’s Team Epee

Junior Men’s Individual Foil
Iskander Akhmetov (RUS)

Junior Men’s Team Foil

Junior Men’s Individual Saber
Konstantin Lokhanov (RUS)

Junior Men’s Team Saber

Junior Women’s Individual Epee
Federica Isola

Junior Women’s Team Epee

Junior Women’s Individual Foil
Komaki Kikuchi (JPN)

Junior Women’s Team Foil

Junior Women’s Individual Saber
Svetlana Seveleva (RUS)

Junior Women’s Team Saber


Tag(s): Latest News