skip navigation

NCAA Fencing

About NCAA Fencing


Each member institution is allowed a maximum of 5 for women and 4.5 for men (Division I), or 4.5 for women and 4.5 for men (Division II) equivalency scholarships. There is no lower scholarship equivalency limit. Division III does not offer athletic scholarship opportunities. 

There is no upper roster limit.

NCAA Championships

The NCAA has held championships in fencing every year since 1941
except for the four years 1943-46, during World War II.

Today, NCAA Teams compete for one combined team championship.

Schools that Sponsor Varsity Fencing

As of August 2024, 45 NCAA schools sponsor fencing. Stretched across all three NCAA divisions and located in 16 states, NCAA Fencing is nationwide. No matter any prospective student-athlete's school preferences, they can find a school that fits their need.

List of Current Programs

Interested in helping to identify and recruit the next varsity collegiate Fencing program? Inquiries may be directed to Brad Suchorski, USA Fencing's Director of Membership, Service and Growth. You can schedule an informational meeting with Brad here: CLICK HERE

NCAA Fencing For Prospective Student Athletes