skip navigation

Veteran Fencing

Veterans Committee

Chair: Valerie Asher

Board Liaison: Abdel Salem OLY (Egypt)

Staff Liaison: Phil Andrews

Membership: Valerie Asher (Chair), Charles Alexander, Creston Bailey, David Hitchcock, Edward Kaihatsu, Jane Carter, Kate Sierra, Keith Baker, Judith Offerle (Athlete), Vacant (Athlete), Vic Bianchini (Ex-Officio)

Ex-Officio: Rita Comes

Veteran Fencer Awards

Year Male Fencer of the Year Female Fencer of the Year Lifetime Achievement
2005 Max & Diana Garrett, Jim Campoli, Mike Mamlouk
2008 Paul Levy
2009 Ray Sexton Diane Kallus
2010 Jim Adams Jane Eyre Larry Pinkus, Terri Abrahams
2011 Wang Yung Delia Turner
2012 Kaz Campe Ellen O'Leary Pat Bedrosian
2013 David Seuss Elizabeth Kocab
2014 Will Milne Jennette Starks-Faulkner
2015 Val Kizik Ann-Marie Walters Marcel Miernik, Bettie Graham
2016 Arnold Messing Susan Hurst
2017 Walter Dragonetti Jude Offerle Karen Brynildsen
2018 Joe Streb Suzanne Marx Ray Sexton, Diane Kallus, Paul Levy
2019 Josh Runyan Elizabeth Kocab, Lydia Fabry, Jennette Starks-Faulkner Jane Eyre, Paul Apostol
2020 NO AWARD GIVEN NO AWARD GIVEN Donald Anthony, Jim Adams, Ellen O'Leary
2021 Marek Wyzynski Ann Totemeier Wang Yung, Rita Comes
2022 Mark Lundborg Linda Dunn, Julie Seal Bruno Goossens, Judith Offerle, Delia Turner
2023 Mark Lundborg (V60), Costa Nichols (V80) Inga Cho (V40), Julie Seal (V50), Jane Eyre (V70) Jan Patterson, Jennette Starks-Faulkner


  • In 2023, the format for Fencer of the Year awards shifted from awarding one man and one woman to honoring one person in each age category. That is reflected in parentheses above.
  • For corrections to missing data in the awards list above, please email with the subject line "Vet Fencer Awards Correction."