skip navigation

Montreal Wheelchair World Cup Results

05/05/2011, 9:00am CDT
By Nicole Jomantas

(Colorado Springs, Colo.) – Ryan Estep (Florence, Miss.) earned the top finishes for the U.S. men at the Montreal Wheelchair World Cup over the weekend where the 2010 Senior World Team member placed 10th in both the Category B epee and foil divisions at the 2012 Paralympic qualifying tournament.

Dennis Aspy (Woodstock, Ga.), a 2010 Wheelchair World Team member, and two-time Paralympian Mario Rodriguez (Ventura, Calif.) also earned top-16 finishes for the men as Aspy placed 15th in the Category A saber division and Rodriguez placed 16th in the Category A foil division.

On the women’s side, Team USA placed sixth in the team epee event. After an opening loss to Hong Kong, Cat Bouwkamp (Fishers, Ind.), Sonya Perduta (Phoenix, Ariz.) and Andrea DeMello (New York City, N.Y.) won their next bout against Great Britain, but lost to Russia to place sixth.

Top-eight and U.S. results for the individual events are as follows:

Women’s Epee Category A
1. Jing Rong (CHN)
2. Chui Yee Yu (HKG)
3. Vera Juhasz (HUN)
3. Baili Wu (CHN)
5. Delphine Bernard (FRA)
6. Xu Feng Zou (CHN)
7. Justine Charissa Ng (HKG)
8. Zsuzsanna Krajnyak (HUN)

19. Catherine Bouwkamp (Fishers, Ind.)
24. Sonya Perduta (Phoenix, Ariz.)

Women’s Epee Category B
1. Simone Briese-Baetke (GER)
2. Yui Chong Chan (HKG)
3. Gyongy Dani (HUN)
3. Fang Yao (CHN)
5. Cecile Demaude (FRA)
6. Justine Moore (GBR)
7. Irina Mishurova (RUS)
8. Andrea DeMello (New York City, N.Y.)

Women’s Foil Category A
1. Jing Rong (CHN)
2. Chui Yee Yu (HKG)
3. Jing Bian (CHN)
3. Baili Wu (CHN)
5. Vera Juhasz (HUN)
6. Pui Shan Fan (HKG)
7. Sabrina Poignet (FRA)
8. Elena Chervyakova (RUS)

21. Sonya Perduta (Phoenix, Ariz.)
23. Catherine Bouwkamp (Fishers, Ind.)

Women’s Foil Category B
1. Simone Briese-Baetke (GER)
2. Yui Chong Chan (HKG)
3. Gyongi Dani (HUN)
3. Fang Yao (CHN)
5. Cecile Demaude (FRA)
6. Irina Mishurova (RUS)
7. Justine Moore (GBR)
8. Andrea DeMello (New York City, N.Y.)

Women’s Saber Combined Category A & B
1. Bian Jing (CHN)
2. Xu Feng Zou (CHN)
3. Albina Kuramshina (RUS)
3. Irina Vidrashko (RUS)
5. Renata Burdon (POL)
6. Marta Fidrych (POL)
7. Anastasiya Pavlova (RUS)

Men’s Epee Category A
1. Dariusz Pender (POL)
2. Robert Citerne (FRA)
3. Matteo Betti (ITA)
3. Romanin Noble (FRA)
5. Norbert Calka (POL)
6. Artur Yusupov (RUS)
7. Radoslaw Stanczuk (POL)
8. Chi Kwong Leung (HKG)

Men’s Epee Category B
1. Marc Andre Cratere (FRA)
2. Alain Latreche (FRA)
3. Jovane Juissoni (BRA)
3. Chik Sum Tam (HKG)
5. Pierre Mainville (CAN)
6. Grzegorz Pluga (POL)
7. Marco Cima (ITA)
8. Uwe Bartmann (GER)

10. Ryan Estep (Florence, Miss.)

Men’s Foil Category A
1. Wing Kin Chan (HKG)
2. Moez El Assine (FRA)
3. Matteo Betti (ITA)
3. Ludovic Lemoine (FRA)
5. Sergey Frolov (RUS)
6. Artur Yusupov (RUS)
7. Dariusz Pender (POL)
8. Meng Chai Cheong (HKG)

16. Mario Rodriguez (Ventura, Calif.)
20. Dennis Aspy (Woodstock, Ga.)

Men’s Foil Category B
1. Marat Yusupov (RUS)
2. Laurent Francois (FRA)
3. David Doisy (FRA)
3. Maxime Valet (FRA)
5. Alessio Sarri (ITA)
6. TImur Khamatshin (RUS)
7. Jovane Guissoni (BRA)
8. Alim Latreche (FRA)

10. Ryan Estep (Florence, Miss.)

Men’s Saber Category A
1. Moez El Assine (FRA)
2. Romanin Noble (FRA)
3. Robert Citerne (FRA)
3. Ludovis Lemoine (FRA)
5. Wing Kan CHN (HKG)
6. Ahmed Andaloussi (FRA)
7. Meng Chai Cheong (HKG)
8. Sergey Frolov (RUS)

15. Dennis Aspy (Woodstock, Ga.)

Men’s Saber Category B
1. Alessio Sarri (ITA)
2. Laurent Francois (FRA)
3. Pierre Mainville (CAN)
3. Grzegorz Pluta (POL)
5. Marc Cratere (FRA)
6. Chik Sum Tam (HKG)
7. Timur Khamatshin (RUS)
8. Panagiotis Triantfyllou (GRE)

Tag(s): News  Catherine Bouwkamp