skip navigation

Referees' Commission Committees

Domestic Assignment Committee

Responsible for hiring referees for the National Tournaments of USA Fencing

Anne Crocket (Vice-Chair, updated 10/1/18), Mary Frye, Marcus Balog, Lisa Campi-Sapery, Mary Mahon, Sean Shumate, Kevin Mar, David Sierra

For more information on the Domestic Assignment Committee, click here.

International Development and Assignments Committee

Responsible for developing and hiring referees for international fencing competitions

Kelly Koehler, Vice-Chair

Process Oversight: Tyler Jacobson

FIE Advisor: Iana Dakova

IWAS Advisor:  Jon Moss

Epee Advisory Committee: Donald Alperstein, Mary Frye, Tyler Jacobsen

Foil Advisory Committee:  Peter Burchard, Devin Donnelly, Doug Findlay, Andrew Foster

Saber Advisory Committee:  Bill Becker, Laura Decker, Ariana Klinkov, David Sach

Wheelchair Advisory Committee: Jon Moss, Sean Shumate

Domestic Referee Development

Responsible for the education and development of referees at the local, regional and national level

Patrick Webster (Vice-Chair), Abbas Fadel, Mary Mahon, Mark Stasinos, Tasha Poissant, Peter Burchard, Rylan Delap, Lisa Campi-Saprey, Justin Meehan, Kevin Mar, Bill Oliver, David Sach, Bruce Gillman, Sean Shumate, Holly Buechel (athlete)

Rules and Examinations Committee

Responsible for decisions on the rules and maintaining the USA Fencing rulebook and on-line referee exam

Devin Donnelly (Vice-Chair), Bradley Baker, Tyler Jacobson, Laura Decker

Referee Ombudsman

Responsible for investigating referee complains and suggesting solutions

Derek Cotton (Vice-Chair), Sue Borgos, Tim Bookwalter, Lisa Campi-Sapery, Bobby Gibbs, Tasha Poissant, Mike Ross, Patrick Webster

RC Ombudsman website:

Ethics Committee

Ebony Harris, Chair

Referees: Susan Belanich, Charles Astudillo, John Houselog, Molly Hill

Athletes: Madison Zeiss, Kamali Thompson, Maya Lawrence, Jeff Spear