skip navigation

This July in Columbus, We’ll Gather to Celebrate the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024 Plus Our 2024 Award Recipients

06/07/2024, 7:00am CDT
By Bryan Wendell

During a special dinner at Summer Nationals, we’ll honor six members of the Class of 2024, one member of the Class of 2025, the recipients of our Service Awards, the winners of our DEIB awards and much more.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — The summer in Columbus, the celebrations (and accompanying bling) will extend beyond the medal stand.

You are cordially invited to the 2024 USA Fencing Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner, set for 6 p.m. on Tuesday, July 2, 2024, at the Hilton Columbus Downtown — right across from the Summer National competition venue. Tickets and tables are now available.

The night includes multiple celebrations in one: We’ll induct the USA Fencing Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024, recognize the 2024 recipients of the USA Fencing Service Awards, salute the 2024 winners of the DEIB Awards, announce the recipient of the High School Coach of the Year award, and honor the participants of Project Empower. But that’s not all. During the cocktail hour before the dinner, we’ll tip our caps to the 2024 graduates of the USA Fencing Leadership Academy.

We’re rolling out the red carpet to honor the legends of our sport, and we hope to see you there.

Event Details

  • Date: Tuesday, July 2, 2024

  • Time: 6 to 10 p.m. ET

  • Location: Hilton Columbus Downtown, 401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215

  • Tickets and tables: Available now

Hall of Fame Induction

This special evening will see us honor the incredible achievements of our 2024 Hall of Fame inductees.

Class of 2024 Inductees:

  • Joey Brinson PLY

  • Harold “Hal” Goldsmith OLY

  • Marty Lang OLY

  • Nat Lubell OLY

  • Stephen Netburn OLY

  • Coach: Andrey Geva

(Note: Nzingha Prescod OLY, has graciously requested to delay her induction to 2025 so she can attend the ceremony in person.)

Special Induction for the Class of 2025:

  • Coach Semyon Pinkhasov, one of the newly minted members of the Class of 2025, will be inducted early by special request.

USA Fencing Service Awards

Ray Miller Award for Service to the Sport of Fencing

  • Recipient: Josh Runyan

  • About the Award: This prestigious award is given to an individual who has shown outstanding dedication and contributions to the growth and development of fencing both nationally and internationally. It’s named after Ray Miller, a pioneer who devoted his life to advancing the sport.

Jack Baker Award for Service to USA Fencing

  • Recipient: Dan Berke

  • About the Award: This accolade is awarded to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional commitment and impact in advancing the mission and initiatives of USA Fencing. Jack Baker’s legacy of service is honored through this recognition.

USA Fencing Award for Service to Divisions

  • Recipient: Dominique Hance

  • About the Award: This award acknowledges individuals’ outstanding commitment and contributions to the flourishing of fencing at the regional and local levels within the United States. It’s a testament to the vital role local divisions play in the sport’s development.

Sam Cheris RC Award for Distinguished Service

  • Recipient: Charles Astudillo

  • About the Award: Presented by the Referees’ Commission, this award recognizes the service of referees who have worked at the highest levels and offered a lifetime of dedication to the sport. Named after Sam Cheris, a revered figure in fencing officiating, it honors those who ensure fair play and integrity in competitions.

DEIB Awards

Peter Westbrook Trailblazer Award

  • Recipient: Bronzeville Fencing Club

  • About the Award: This award highlights fencing clubs demonstrating an outstanding commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion by increasing access to the sport. Named after Peter Westbrook, the first African American fencer to win an Olympic medal in fencing and a champion for underserved communities, this award honors clubs that continue his legacy.

Mariel Zagunis Women’s Advancement Award

  • Recipient: Northwest Fencing Center

  • About the Award: Created in recognition of Mariel Zagunis’ tremendous contributions to women’s advancement in fencing, this award honors clubs that have shown outstanding commitment to the development and engagement of women in the sport. It celebrates efforts to break barriers and foster female leadership in fencing.

Leszek “Maestro” Stawicki Parafencing Athlete Development Award

  • Recipient: Kern Athletic Fencing Foundation

  • About the Award: Named after Maestro Les Stawicki, a key figure in advancing parafencing, this award recognizes clubs that demonstrate a strong commitment to the development of parafencing. It celebrates efforts to create inclusive environments and develop athletes who compete at national and international levels.


  • Recipient: Valkyrie Fencing Club

  • About the Award: This award honors clubs committed to creating access for individuals with disabilities to enjoy fencing. It aims to inspire clubs to establish safe and inclusive spaces, advocating for athletes with visible and invisible disabilities, and promoting a culture of belonging.

Project Empower 

We’ll honor the participants of Project Empower, the mentorship program designed to advance the development of women and non-binary individuals as future leaders and coaches in the sport of fencing. 

2024 Participants


  • Adeline Chung-Feder

  • Clara Meere-Weigel

  • Traci Sethre

  • İpek İrem Ülki

  • Cara Taggersell

  • Diana Philpot

  • Caroline Dikibo

  • Angelica Brisk

  • Taneil Lawton

  • Abram Gregory


  • Maureen Griffin

  • Damien Lehfeldt

  • Margaret Readi De Long

  • Jennifer Oldham 

  • Elizabeth Burnham

  • Fati Largaespada

  • D.C. Pixie Roane

  • Kathy Vail

  • Jill Feldman

  • Ryleigh Sweet

… And More!

And that’s not all. The night of celebrations will also include time to honor:

  • The 2024 Graduates of the USA Fencing Leadership Academy:

    • Alex Chan

    • Alexander Goor

    • Alice M Kee

    • Daniel Friend

    • Emily L Bian

    • Heather Shankwiler

    • Jeffrey Kallio

    • Lucy Hernandez Delgado

    • Melvin Rodriguez

    • Molly Hill

    • Nickolys Hinton

    • Richard Weiss

    • Rick Swauger

    • Seth Barondess

    • Zinnia Arce

  • The 2024 Recipient of the USA Fencing High School Coach of the Year Award

Tag(s): Updates  2024 Summer Nationals