skip navigation

Announcing the Return of the USA Fencing High School Coach of the Year Award

04/03/2024, 8:45am CDT
By Bryan Wendell

We’re honoring the dedication and impact of high school fencing coaches by reinstating this esteemed award, with nominations accepted through May 1, 2024.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — There’s no denying the impact that a high school fencing coach can have on talented student-athletes — helping guide them toward competitive success while instilling in them core values like respect, teamwork and dedication.

That’s why USA Fencing is excited to announce the return of the prestigious High School Coach of the Year Award. This award, last presented after the 2019-2020 season, celebrates the dedication and influence of high school fencing coaches across the nation. 

These are coaches who have demonstrated both exceptional commitment to their student-athletes and a significant enhancement of their schools’ fencing programs.

The award is open to head coaches and assistant coaches affiliated with USA Fencing High School Member or Affiliate clubs. 

Nominations are open now through May 1, 2024, and can be submitted by student-athletes, parents, high school administrators, and fellow coaches. 

Phil Andrews, CEO of USA Fencing, expressed his enthusiasm for the award. 

“High school fencing is such a pivotal stage in the athletic and personal development of our fencers,” he says. “This award is the latest example of our renewed dedication to nurturing this level of the sport, celebrating the coaches who inspire excellence and passion in their athletes.”

To nominate a coach, both the nominator and nominee must have active USA Fencing memberships (be sure to have both numbers handy when applying!). 

The nominee must have actively coached at the high school level during the 2023-2024 fencing season. Selection will be based on the coach’s ability to manage and direct their program, achieve competitive success and their overall merit for the honor. Nominators will submit an essay (500 words or fewer) supporting their choice.

The winning coach will receive recognition on USA Fencing website and social media channels and be featured on the official USA Fencing podcast!

Good luck, and to all our great coaches: Thanks for all you do!

Past Recipients of the High School Coach of the Year Award

  • 2016-17: Jeff Salmon, Ward Melville High School (East Setauket, N.Y.)

  • 2017-18: Michael Marx, Concord-Carlisle High School (Concord, Mass.)

  • 2018-19: Corlis Hicks, Rochester STEM Academy (Rochester, Minn.)

  • 2019-20: Daniel Bailey-Yavonditte, Newark Academy (Jersey City, N.J.)

  • 2020-21: Kristin Vines, The Baylor School (Chattanooga, Tenn.)

Tag(s): Updates